In the Beginning

It is with some trepidation that I begin such a public writing process. I have always loved writing, but I’ve found very little time to do it consistently. Here I am to try again! I want to tell stories about growing up a farm kid in Iowa, being a loyal Arkansas transplant, single parenting, and parenting a teenage boy in all its glory and horrors. I chose “A Growing Season” as a book title several years ago as a metaphor for all the changes happening in my life, that happen in everyone’s life really, and its relationship to the growing seasons of the farm that I used to be so in tune with as a child. For my son, my family, and my friends I would like to create a better narrative and archive of our shared history than what I’ve done so far. My poor child. If he were to judge my parenting by his baby book or the chaotic state of all of our pictures, he might decide I wasn’t much of a mother. He knows better, I hope, but I’d like to create a little proof that I work hard at being a mom, sister, daughter, friend, teacher, and nonprofit director.

~ by Angie Albright on August 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “In the Beginning”

  1. Congratulations on starting your blog, Angie. I know it’ll be a great archive of your “shared history!”

  2. Great idea! Wish I had done something like that, although I’ve kept a diary for years. I feel inspired now to get to work writing family histories–someone has to preserve them for future generations.

  3. Good luck with this, Angie! I hope you do better with it than I do on mine. I have a great time when I do write it, but haven’t done it consistently. If you master that, let me know how.

Leave a Reply

 
