Listen To Your Mother . . . Again

The countdown is ON and it’s only hours before the cast of Listen To Your Mother takes the stage at the Walton Arts Center’s Starr Theater. My dress is ready, my voice is ready, and my favorite red pumps have been shined up. The writing, auditions, rehearsal, and show have been pretty exciting, but lots of other fun things have come of this production for NWA and for me, including a number of newspaper articles (one of them is one I wrote for The City Wire), a radio appearance, and a guest post on Arkansas Women Bloggers.

I feel a little obnoxious posting all these links to my own work, but frankly, this is the only way I’ll “save” these since my blog is kind of like my personal and family scrapbook. One would think file folders would do the same thing but apparently they don’t work well for me.

April 25, 2012: Seven of the 14 cast members of LTYM crowded into the largest of the recording studios with Kyle Kellams at KUAF, a highly rated local NPR affiliate. KUAF produces daily and weekend shows about local news and events called “Ozarks at Large.” In this segment, you get to hear Kyle Kellams and seven women talk about motherhood and Sunday’s production of Listen To Your Mother.

One of my favorite blog sources, and a network I belong to, is Arkansas Women Bloggers. They do a great job of capturing the voices of women writers across the state, and I was happy to guest post for them about Listen To Your Mother. It’s a natural fit!

I wrote a story for the relatively new online news source, The City Wire, a few weeks before I actually auditioned and made the cast of this show. The story was fun to write, and in it I tell a bit about the background of the production, its origins, and how it got to NWA. Extra, extra, read all about it!

Fair warning: there will be more posts on the show AFTER it’s over! I hope to see you all there. Stay tuned for the YouTube video if you can’t make the show on Sunday.

~ by Angie Albright on April 28, 2012.

One Response to “Listen To Your Mother . . . Again”

  1. Congrats on a great show! You got a strong response to your piece. In fact, the audience was engaged with every reader. The afternoon was a total success.

Leave a comment